The state of Florida has some of the strictest DUI laws in the country. If you are convicted of a DUI in Florida, you will not be able to have your record wiped or sealed. It will be recorded on your record for the next 75 years. A judge has the authority to inflict a wide range of minimum and maximum punishments. Here are a few of the most common consequences of getting a DUI in Florida.
First Time Offense
If convicted of a DUI, even first-time offenders may face time in prison. While each case is unique, and your sentence will be determined by the specific circumstances of your case, the following are some general guidelines: If you deny a breath test or register a blood alcohol level (BAC), you might face up to six months in prison. If you had a BAC of .15 or greater or were driving with a youngster in the vehicle, you could face up to nine months in prison. For a DUI vehicle accident, you might face up to 12 months in prison.
Second Time Offense
If your second DUI arrest occurs within five years of your first DUI conviction, you will be sentenced to a minimum of 10 days in jail. A residential rehab program may be substituted for jail time at the judge’s discretion. If your second DUI arrest occurs more than five years after your first DUI conviction, and you either refused a blood or breath test or had a BAC below .15 with no car accident, you might face up to nine months in prison. There is no set amount of time that must be served in prison. If your second DUI arrest occurs more than five years after your first DUI conviction and you had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of.15 or higher or were driving with a juvenile in the vehicle, you might face a maximum penalty of 12 months in prison.
How Do DUI Convictions Affect Your Driving Privileges?
Even individuals who are found guilty of driving under the influence for the first time may lose their driving privileges. Driver’s license suspensions are issued immediately after an arrest and can last for months or years. For a first infraction, a six-month penalty is required, with a maximum of one year. If your second DUI conviction occurs within five years of your first, your license will be suspended for at least five years, with the option of a hardship license after one year. The ban will be for a minimum of six months if your second arrest occurs more than five years after your first DUI conviction.
We hope this article has been helpful in highlighting the common consequences of getting a DUI in Florida. If you are looking for ways to recover from a drunk driving conviction, be sure to reference your legal team and the internet to find out what the next steps are.